Posted by: Deborah Drezon Carroll | July 2, 2010

Does Your Family Have a Theme Song?


While I was running this morning and listening to music, I was thinking about how music provides a sort of soundtrack to our lives. I’ve always loved it, and passed that love on to the girls who are all crazy about music, too. When, they were little, I announced that we had a family theme song. It was “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now,” by the Jefferson Starship. (Although, they’ll always be Jefferson Airplane to me.) Here are some of the lyrics:

Let them say we’re crazy
I don’t care about that
Put your hand in my in my hand, baby, don’t ever look back
Let the world around us just fall apart
Baby, we can make it if we`re heart to heart

And we can build this dream together,
Standing strong forever
Nothing’s gonna stop us now
And if this world runs out of lovers
We’ll still have each other
Nothing’s gonna stop us,

What’s not to love about that? My girls made fun of me, but I believed they secretly liked the idea of a family theme song. Truth be told, there are days when other songs may have been deemed more appropriate…
Breakdown: Tom Petty
Circle Game: Joni Mitchell
Knocking Around the Zoo: James Taylor
It Don’t Have to Change: John Legend

… but, no, I still think my original choice fits us the best. Girls, it’s your turn, what do choose for our family theme song?

Alexis Writes: (Even though Shira tried to sabotage me and deleted what I wrote)
Party in the USA: Miley Cyrus
Let’s Get Loud: Jennifer Lopez
You Rock My World: Michael Jackson
Valerie: Steve Winwood

Shira writes:
Spice up your life: Spice Girls
I Got A Feeling: Black Eyed Peas (mazel tov)
Anything by Roy Orbison (not kidding)

Tamra Writes:
Brick House: The Commodores
C’est la Vie: Bewitched (I hear there’s a great video for this somewhere in the archives…)

And of course anything by Buffalo Springfield (kidding)

Mom writes:
Brick House? Isn’t that coincidentally your personal theme song? Does it fit all of us? Even Dad?

So, what do you think? Vote for your favorite theme song for our family, or add one of your own. And do let us know, if your family had a song, what would it be?

Responses

  1. Running is bad for the knees 🙂 I think Ned knows this already and that is why he doesn’t run. Although, I think many of these songs are very strange picks for your family( who picked these?-confess now) I think, perphaps, Spice Up Your Life, kind of reminds me of your family spin on life—in a very good way!

  2. It’s true, running is bad for your knees but have you seen my thighs? 🙂

    • I don’t know if it is “blog” proper to comment of your thighs 🙂

  3. Ours is the theme from “Sanford & Son” because my husband never throws anything away. The theme for my daughters is Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance.”

    • HA! That’s funny. But, truly, “I Hope You Dance” actually makes me cry. If I thought my daughters wouldn’t have made merciless fun of me, I would have picked that for our theme song. But, they know about the crying and I’d never hear the end of it!

  4. I love this! What a great thought. I’ll have to think about this one for a bit because inevitably my first instinct will be something my husband deems “chick music” and I don’t want to leave him out…

  5. Well, no one said that Metallica never wrote a family theme song! I’m curious to hear what he picks! Thanks for stopping by. Tomorrow, we’re writing about personality profiles. Stop on back!

  6. Happy SITS day! I think it’s great that you’re the family that blogs together! Awesome!

  7. Well, isn’t it true that the family that blogs together… well… spends a lot of time cracking each other up? Oh, maybe that’s just us. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

