Posted by: Deborah Drezon Carroll | December 29, 2009

Does the World Need Another Blog?


I figure the world needs another blog like a hole in the head. (Something my mother used to say..well not the blog part, but definitely the hole in the head part). But, here’s the thing: In the 90s, I had two parenting books published. Unless you are one of my friends or relatives, you’ve never heard of me, so you can see how well they sold. I had a great agent who somehow managed to get them both published. Then I stopped writing books because I didn’t have anything else to say. Now, I think I have something. Or, rather, I think that, together, my three grown daughters and I can share something worthwhile, entertaining and maybe even helpful. But my great agent (now retired but she’s coaching me) says that these days, one needs a “platform” before one gets published. It was so much easier when all one needed was a connected agent who had big clients and lots of influence. So, blogs are us. If you and everyone you’ve ever met in your life hits it every day, by 2031, we should have enough of a following to attract a publisher. Of course, I’ll be in a “home” by then and unlikely to still be able to type but I’ll worry about that later.

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my pond :O) I’m happy you did and left me your link as well. I have a daughter myself….she’s 16 months so we’ve a ways to go in the parenting field. Looking forward to your next post!

  2. 16 months is fast approaching my favorite age, 18 months. They’re fun. They babble and chat and they rarely say anything sarcastic. Enjoy!

  3. Sounds like you have a lot of wisdom to share– there’s always room for that!! 🙂

  4. I love this as a way of expression. Haven’t read your books, but love your format (including daughters) and content…so you are published differently, huh?

  5. Thanks so much. It’s really great to know that people like this because we’re having a lot of fun doing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

